HISTORICAL CONFERENCES OF METHODISM IN ARKANSAS

During the past 200 years, the Methodist churches of Arkansas have been served by six different Annual Conferences: Arkansas Conference, Little Rock Conference, North Arkansas Conference, Southwest Conference, Ouachita Conference, and White River Conference.



1816 - 1835 From 1815 to 1835 the Arkansas Territory was served by pastors appointed by the Missouri Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church.





1854 - 1870
Arkansas Methodists
were divided into
two conferences, the
Ouachita or "Wachita"
Conference in the south
became the second
conference authorized by
the Methodist Episcopal

conference authori
the Methodist Epis
Church. It later became the Little Rock



1870 - 1914
A third conference, named the White
River, was organized in the northeast part of Arkansas. The northwest remained the Arkansas Conference.



Conference.

1879 - 1972 In 1879 many of the African American congregations chose to

join the conference of the Methodist Episcopal (North) Church within Arkansas, forming the "Little Rock Conference, ME." In 1929 the named changed to Southwest Conference, and consisted of three districts in Oklahoma and Arkansas. In 1972 the Arkansas churche s of the Southwest Conference merged with the North Arkansas and Little Rock Conferences.



1914 - 2003
The Arkansas
and White River
Conferences merged
to form the North
Arkansas Conference.



2003
The Little Rock
and North Arkansas
Conferences merged
to form the Arkansas
Conference, and
reduced the number of
districts from 12 to 9.



2012
The Arkansas
Conference reduced
the number of districts
from 9 to 5.